Wednesday, August 18, 2010

Financial Update...

My mortgage payment is going up $100 starting next month for property taxes so it's back to the drawing board with the budget.

I found a discounted parking garage directly across from the part-time job for $12.00/day. It's just like the garage I park in now and will be a much safer option at night. Great!!! I wish I had someone willing to pick me up once or twice a week and bring me home. Then I wouldn't need to drive downtown or pay for parking. Maybe soon.

I get paid $139 on Friday from the part-time job, bringing my total part-time income for the month to $486. I will earn about ~ $200 this week and get paid the last Friday of the month on the 27th. Since I get paid from my banking position on the 30th, I will probably put the entire $200 into savings or split it and put $100 towards my credit card and $100 into savings.

I have to work tonight, Friday night and Saturday. No biggie. I may go out for drinks with a friend on Friday night and then I am done on Saturday at 4:30pm. Weather permitting, I may walk over to Navy Pier and the Lake to hang out. I haven't been there in a couple of years.

I may try to get in a round of golf on Sunday and see if my Sister wants to take my 17-month old nephew to the Acquarium. I really can't wait to have a husband and start a family of my own. I stopped by my parent's house last night on a whim and ended up playing with my nephew for about 2 hours. The little guy just brings so much joy and love into my life. I have so much love to give so I look forward to when my day will come. In the meantime, I will hug, kiss and tickle my nephew and watch him grow into a wonderful person.

Have a great day!!! With gratitude - Chitown =)


Anonymous said...

After you substract $12 per day for parking from your part-time paycheck, how much are you really making per hour? Is it worth the time, energy and stress? Would you be better off freelancing you legal skills?

Chitown said...

@ BBC: It costs me $8/day to travel by train to work so it is only a $4/day difference, probably $6/day with gas. With commission, I probably make about $12-13/hour so it is still worth it to drive.

I can assure you...doing anything more or anything else right now isn't an option. I do believe that a new legal position is on the horizon and it could be in the six figures.